Plurality of Self


I’ve been told that I’m a completely different person now than before. I’ve also been told that I sometimes change in to a different person.
I think it’s partially true. I as a person I don’t change in to a different person, but I certainly have different personalities that emerge according to mood and environment.
As a person, I am constantly changing. I am not the same person now as I was when I started writing this. With time, these constant, small changes build up in to something significant.
As Meg Barker writes in her book, Changing the Rules,

  • We are plural rather than singular
  • We are in process rather than static

I am acknowledging the plurality of myself. It’s a wonderful road of discovery. Since I am paying attention to it, I am seeing parts of myself that I never knew I had. Some, I like. Some I don’t like. With exercises, I am strengthening the parts I want to and weakening the parts that I don’t. That gives me a great sense of empowerment that I can consciously change the course of who I will become.
This road of self-discovery has also shown me new opportunities within myself. New talents and abilities. It has reopened my eyes to parts of myself that I had forgotten ever existed and reawakened an almost childish curiosity and excitement.

Though it’s a terrible cliché, that which does not kill me, makes me stronger. That has certainly been true for me. Through the process of recovering from depression, I have learned techniques for self-appraisal and self-improvement that I would otherwise never have learned. Though it was a very difficult period for me, I am now better armed to forge an even better path through life.

So, if I am to offer one piece of advice, it is this: In any situation, always seek to learn something that will help to empower you for the future.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m so happy you can recognize and appreciate this. Too often, I’ve heard people say, “so-and-so acts differently [in this situation] versus [this situation],” as if it’s a bad thing. We shouldn’t be discouraging people from embracing the many branches of their personality; we should embrace our own and encourage others to do so, as well.

    Like

    1. polyhydra says:

      I totally agree. Also between any two people is a relationship. Maybe Alice acts unfriendly towards Bob because Bob doesn’t respect Alice’s boundaries.

      Like

Leave a Reply

