K.I.S.S.


Have you ever felt that there are not enough hours in the day to do everything you want to? I certainly have and it’s no surprise. In the fast pace of modern life in a city, we are often bombarded with things to do. We have so much more choice than before and with mobile devices, we have thousands of apps to download to do millions of things – almost all with pop-ups, reminders and notifications.

But it’s not the technology that’s the problem. It’s not our society. Although these two things enable us to do more and on the move, they’re not forcing us to do so. It’s still our choice. It’s still in our hands. I was inspired to write this after reading 9 Rules for a Simpler Day and I encourage you to have a look.

For me, these rules can be boiled down to a simple acronym:

Or as Albert Einstein put it, Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler.

The acronym comes from my career background, but really, it applies to life in general. We have enough distractions, annoyances, bureaucracy, politics and inter-personal conflicts to deal with every day. There is absolutely no need to choose to make our lives more complicated.

The problem for me and I suspect for many others is that it’s difficult to tell how much is really in our control. I’m still making many mistakes: letting the wishes of others transfer directly to my actions, not saying no because I want to please someone else, not doing the most important things first because they are not the things that I really enjoy doing and trying to do too much in one day to leave more free time later.

At least I can see my mistakes and the reasons behind them. That gives me the power to change by tackling the root causes rather than only the symptoms. Not just intellectually, but internally, I must realize that I am an independent person. Others have no control over me. I am not responsible for making someone else happy. I am responsible for making sure things that need to be done, get done first. I am not a robot and need relaxation time – doing more things now will only mean that the next days will be just as busy with unimportant crap.

Now I just have to do it…

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ah, yup. It is a struggle for me to put down my phone sometimes. All the notifications! Someone must like me or something!!!!
    As you say- KISS!!! Keep it simple silly. One of my favorite mottos.

    Like

    1. polyhydra says:

      I’m the same. I’ve had to limit my online time. It’s not going too well, but at least I’ve locked down some activities where I don’t respond.

      Like

Leave a Reply

