Cessation


I haven’t written anything here for a long time. It’s not just that I haven’t published anything. I haven’t written anything at all.

Truth is, that I’ve been going through another patch of depression. I think I have an analogy now that might be understood by those who have never experienced this condition. It’s a bit like having writer’s block, but for life. You know that there is a lot to do. You know what needs to be done. For some reason though, you just don’t (can’t) do it. This goes really for everything. When it gets really bad, it extends to simple, basic things like washing, eating and sleeping.

It’s funny. I’ve been really deep in it before and got out with the help of my brother, my therapist, my life coach and some medication. When I got out of it, I thought that I’d recognize the symptoms and be able to halt the process. Not so. It’s not that I didn’t recognize the symptoms… it’s like that writer’s block I was talking about. I just didn’t do anything about it.

So… here I am, writing again. I guess it means that I’m coming back out of it. I found some kind of impulse to change and I’ve started doing things again. I can’t really say where the impulse came from. Partly me. Partly my life situation. Partly Mr. T.
Yes, I’m lucky enough to have a Mr. T close to me in life. Someone willing to tell me, “get up and do something, fool!” when my life is stalled in the mad world of Murdock’s brain.
Thank you Mr. T. I will always adore those big gold chains and your willingness to call me a fool when I deserve it…

Leave a Reply

